The New Oxford Shakespeare is the work of an international, inter-generational team of fourteen scholars, under the leadership of four General Editors. Through the entire project the team has collaborated closely, sharing ideas and allowing new thinking to inform editorial decisions.

To test alternative texts and explore specific textual problems, the team created an experimental theatre research company led by general editor and professional actor Terri Bourus.

General Editors

Gary Taylor

Professor Gary Taylor, Florida State University, USA

Gary Taylor is Distinguished Research Professor of English at Florida State University, where he founded the interdisciplinary History of Text Technologies graduate program and co-founded the undergraduate Editing, Writing, Media track in the English major. With Stanley Wells, he general-edited the landmark 1986-7 Oxford edition of Shakespeare. He returns to Shakespeare after general-editing the Oxford edition of the Collected Works of ‘our other Shakespeare’, Thomas Middleton (winner of the MLA prize for a distinguished scholarly edition and the Elizabeth Dietz award for best publication in early modern studies). He has also edited John Fletcher’s The Tamer Tamed, and for thirty years has published widely on editing, literature, theatre, and culture.

John Jowett

Professor John Jowett, University of Birmingham, UK

John Jowett is Professor of Shakespeare Studies and Deputy Director of the Shakespeare Institute at the University of Birmingham. His OUP publications include Shakespeare and Text (2007), the Oxford edition of Shakespeare’s Complete Works (1986-7, associate editor), the Oxford edition of Thomas Middleton: The Collected Works (2007, associate general editor), and the Oxford World Classics editions of Richard III (2000) and Timon of Athens (2004). He is also a General Editor of the Arden Early Modern Drama series, has edited Sir Thomas More for the Arden Shakespeare, and is on the Editorial Board of the Malone Society.

Terri Bourus

Professor Terri Bourus, Indiana University Indianapolis, USA

Terri Bourus, Professor of English Drama at IUPUI, is a multiple-prize-winning teacher and equity actor. Her monograph, Young Shakespeare’s Young Hamlet: Print, Piracy, and Performance (Palgrave 2014) is an exciting new look at the print and performance history of Q1Hamlet. Bourus is the third general editor of The New Oxford Shakespeare and she directs the Indianapolis team in the IU School of Liberal Arts at IUPUI, which provides offices, administrative, and computing support for her and for the NOS editorial staff. Bourus is the Founding Director of Hoosier Bard Productions, the theatrical arm of the NOS. Professor Bourus has also edited multi-media textbooks of Hamlet and A Midsummer Night’s Dream and digital editions of six early plays by Shakespeare’s contemporaries. She is on the performance advisory editorial board for the new Digital Renaissance Editions, and is the author of several essays on performing Shakespeare’s plays.

Gabriel Egan

Professor Gabriel Egan, De Montfort University, UK

Gabriel Egan is Professor of Shakespeare Studies and Director of the Centre for Textual Studies at De Montfort University. He teaches and researches on textual technologies in Shakespeare’s time (especially letter-press printing) and our own (digital texts and computational stylistics). He co-edits the journals ‘Shakespeare’ and ‘Theatre Notebook’ and chairs the Advisory Board of the full-text database (incorporating EEBO and ECCO) called Jisc Historical Texts.

Associate Editors

Francis X. Connor

Dr Francis X. Connor, Wichita State University, USA

Francis X. Connor is Assistant Professor of English at Wichita State University, Wichita, KS, where his teaching and research focuses on Shakespeare, early modern poetry, and the History of the Book. He is the author of Literary Folios and Ideas of the Book in Early Modern England (Palgrave, 2014).

Rory V. Loughnane

Dr Rory Loughnane, University of Kent, UK

Rory Loughnane is an Assistant Research Professor at IUPUI. He is the co-editor of Late Shakespeare, 1608-1613 (Cambridge, 2012), Celtic Shakespeare (Ashgate, 2013), Staged Transgression in Shakespeare’s England (Palgrave, 2013), The Yearbook of English Studies for 2014, dedicated to Caroline literature, and The Memory Arts in Renaissance England (Cambridge, 2016).

Dr Anna Pruitt, Indiana University Indianapolis, USA

Anna Pruitt is an Assistant Research Professor in the Indiana University School of Liberal Arts. She was a Mellon Fellow in Early Modern Studies at UC Davis and co-edited Thomas Dekker’s The Whore of Babylon (forthcoming from Digital Renaissance Editions).

Assistant Editors

Sarah Neville

Dr Sarah Neville, Ohio State University, USA

Sarah Neville is an assistant professor in the Department of English at The Ohio State University with an affiliate appointment in Theatre. She is a general textual editor for the Digital Renaissance Editions, and teaches courses in Shakespeare in performance, book history, and the history of science/medicine.

Will Sharpe

Dr Will Sharpe, University of Birmingham, UK

Will Sharpe is a Teaching Fellow at the University of Birmingham and the Shakespeare Institute. He works mainly on collaborative authorship and textual studies, most notably the monograph-length essay ‘Authorship and Attribution’ in William Shakespeare and Others: Collaborative Plays (Palgrave/RSC). He was one of the two revising editors of The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare, second edition (2015).

Editorial Board

Professor Andrew Gurr, Reading University, UK
Professor Stephen Orgel, Stanford University, USA
Professor David Gants, Florida State University, USA

Attribution Board

Professor Hugh Craig, University of Newcastle, Australia
Professor Gabriel Egan, De Montfort University, UK
Professor MacDonald P. Jackson, University of Auckland, New Zealand

Pedagogy Board

Professor Douglas Lanier, University of New Hampshire, USA
Dr Kate McPherson, Utah Valley University, USA
Dr Charlotte Scott, Goldsmiths College, London University, UK

Theatre Board

Dr Ralph Cohen, Co-Founder and Director of Mission, American Shakespeare Center; Professor of Shakespeare and Performance, Mary Baldwin College, USA
Dr Farah Karim-Cooper, Globe Education, Shakespeare’s Globe, UK
Dr Jacquelyn Bessell, Guildford School of Acting, UK

Additional Commentaries

Professor Stanley Wells, Honorary President, Shakespeare Birthplace Trust, UK
Dr John V. Nance, Florida State University, USA
Dr Kate McPherson, Utah Valley University, USA

Research Dramaturge

Dr Andrew J. Power, Saint Louis University – Madrid Campus, Spain

Music Editor

Dr John Cunningham, Bangor University / Prifysgol Bangor, UK